DGP Dinkar Gupta, Appointed As PPHC Chairperson

The Former Punjab Police chief Dinkar Gupta got a new posting on Monday. The Punjab government has appointed him as Chairman of Punjab Police Housing Corporation (PPHC). State Congress chief Navjot Sidhu had objected to the appointment of Sahota as acting DGP and had offered his resignation from the post, while also pointing out a few other issues, which included the appointment of AG APS Deol.

On September 25, the government had appointed 1988-batch IPS officer Iqbal Preet Singh Sahota as the officiating head of the state police force, releasing DGP Dinkar Gupta of the charge.

Also, According to the orders that were issued by the state government, Iqbal Preet Singh Sahota would also continue to hold the charge of Special DGP, Armed Battalion, Punjab. Dinkar Gupta, who had two years and seven months’ term as the state police chief, had already sought permission for a central deputation.

The other officers whose names have been sent to UPSC as well are — Dinkar Gupta, two more of 1987-batch IPS officers MK Tiwari and V K Bhawra, three 1988-batch officers Iqbal Preet Singh Sahota, Rohit Choudhary, and Prabodh Kumar, two 1989-batch officers Sanjeev Kalra and Parag Jain and 1991-batch officer BK Uppal. MK Tiwari, who was chairman-cum-managing director of PPHC, has been posted as PPHC managing director after Gupta’s appointment as PPHC chairperson.

Related Posts

About The Author


Read Profiles. Get Inspired.